## **Research Awards in the Natural Sciences**

The awards are sponsored by the Natural Sciences of McPherson College and Midwest Oilseeds of Adel, Iowa.

The **Burkholder Research Award**, the highest award, is presented in recognition of outstanding achievement in student research. The **Merit Research Award** is presented in recognition of achievement in student research.

Each student completing a senior research project in the Natural Sciences is a candidate for an award. The Natural Science Faculty select the winners of the awards. Three criteria are used to judge the quality of the research and in selection of student award winners: (1) Selection and planning of a research project; (2) Quality of the research work, including techniques, observations made, and the analysis of data; and (3) Reporting the research, consisting of preparation of the research paper, and a poster or oral presentation to students and faculty.

Each student receiving an award will receive a Certificate of Award. Those receiving the Burkholder Award will have their name inscribed on a plaque, and will receive a year membership in the American Association for the Advancement of Science and a subscription to the journal *Science*.

<b>Year</b> 2019 2018	Burkholder Award Parkes Wolters	Merit Award Micaila Curtis, Samantha Nelson Nora Grosbach, Amy Makovec
2017 2016 2015 2014	Nathan Finch Tiffany Fraser, Ashley Long Nathaniel Schowengerdt Yi Qun Chai, Sean DeYoung	Sheryl Evans, Lucas Giesey Alia Khalidi, Kaley Kinnamon Shannon Coldren, Sydney Lipton, Jordan Stewart Lori Crain, Alejandro Esparza, Christian Rodriguez
2013 2012 2011 2010	Amanda Baxter, Emily James, Taylor Roop Audrey McTaggart  Ashlee Jost, David Miller	Torey Fry, Kasey Miller Savannah Sievers, Andrew Skinner Karissa Ferrell, Kelley Green, Ashley Zodrow
2009	Adam Horinek	Amanda Pangburn, Nicole Sampson, Lezli Warkentin
2008 2007	Joel Grosbach, Landon Snell, W. Brett Whitenack Callie Crist	Alan Grosbach Rhonda Hoffert, Jamie Rodriguez
2006 2005	Travis Allen Joseph Blas	Lisa Sader David Cockriel, Jenny Harper, Danielle Lucore
2004 2003	Robert Ullom Michelle Schulz	Adeline Cripe
2002	Elizabeth Stover	Renata Lichty
2001	Genelle Wine Nathan McLaughlin	Jonas Lichty Jeffrey McPherson
1999	Roy Johnson, Jr.	Jennifer M. Amiot, Janet Bowen, Eric D. Putnam, Anna Katharina Schenk
1998 1997 1996	Kerri Kobbeman	Rebecca Standafer, Cameron Mahler Rod Samuelson Chris Owens, Wes Seckler, Stasi Zirkel
1995 1994	Monica Embers, Heather Hughbanks Adam Smith	Erik Harmon Susan Blubaugh, Sherry Coopple, Adeola Grillo, Paula Worley
1993 1992	Tyson Burden Pete Hanson	Robin Morgan
1991 1990 1989	James Dechand	Thomas Champion, Shannon Hull David Maxey Michelle Roesch
1988 1987	David Lehmen David Krehbiel, Marla Ullom	Cynthia Aeschacher, Sandra Ashbaugh Cassandra Clark, Marsha Morley, Jay Nicholson