Research Awards in the Natural Sciences

The awards are sponsored by the Natural Sciences of McPherson College and Midwest Oilseeds of Adel, Iowa.

The **Burkholder Research Award**, the highest award, is presented in recognition of outstanding achievement in student research. The **Merit Research Award** is presented in recognition of achievement in student research.

Each student completing a senior research project in the Natural Sciences is a candidate for an award. The Natural Science Faculty select the winners of the awards. Three criteria are used to judge the quality of the research and in selection of student award winners: (1) Selection and planning of a research project; (2) Quality of the research work, including techniques, observations made, and the analysis of data; and (3) Reporting the research, consisting of preparation of the research paper, and a poster or oral presentation to students and faculty.

Each student receiving an award will receive a Certificate of Award. Those receiving the Burkholder Award will have their name inscribed on a plaque, and will receive a year membership in the American Association for the Advancement of Science and a subscription to the journal *Science*.

Year	Burkholder Award	Merit Award
2016		Alia Khalidi, Kaley Kinnamon
2015	Tiffany Fraser, Ashley Long Nathaniel Schowengerdt	Shannon Coldren, Sydney Lipton, Jordan Stewart
2015		
2014	Yi Qun Chai, Sean DeYoung	Lori Crain, Alejandro Esparza, Christian
2042	Amanda Daytar Emily James Taylar Daan	Rodriguez
2013	Amanda Baxter, Emily James, Taylor Roop	Torey Fry, Kasey Miller
2012	Audrey McTaggart	Savannah Sievers, Andrew Skinner
2011	A state at the CD social NATION	Karissa Ferrell, Kelley Green, Ashley Zodrow
2010	Ashlee Jost, David Miller	A 1 D 1 N: 1 O
2009	Adam Horinek	Amanda Pangburn, Nicole Sampson,
		Lezli Warkentin
2008	Joel Grosbach, Landon Snell, W. Brett Whitenack	Alan Grosbach
2007	Callie Crist	Rhonda Hoffert, Jamie Rodriguez
2006	Travis Allen	Lisa Sader
2005	Joseph Blas	David Cockriel, Jenny Harper, Danielle Lucore
2004	Robert Ullom	
2003	Michelle Schulz	Adeline Cripe
2002	Elizabeth Stover	Renata Lichty
2001	Genelle Wine	Jonas Lichty
2000	Nathan McLaughlin	Jeffrey McPherson
1999	Roy Johnson, Jr.	Jennifer M. Amiot, Janet Bowen, Eric D. Putnam,
		Anna Katharina Schenk
1998		Rebecca Standafer, Cameron Mahler
1997	Kerri Kobbeman	Rod Samuelson
1996		Chris Owens, Wes Seckler, Stasi Zirkel
1995	Monica Embers, Heather Hughbanks	Erik Harmon
1994	Adam Smith	Susan Blubaugh, Sherry Coopple, Adeola Grillo,
		Paula Worley
1993	Tyson Burden	Robin Morgan
1992	Pete Hanson	
1991		Thomas Champion, Shannon Hull
1990	James Dechand	David Maxey
1989		Michelle Roesch
1988	David Lehmen	Cynthia Aeschacher, Sandra Ashbaugh
1987	David Krehbiel, Marla Ullom	Cassandra Clark, Marsha Morley, Jay Nicholson
	•	,