Research Awards in the Natural Sciences

The awards are sponsored by the Natural Sciences of McPherson College and by Midwest Oilseeds of Adel, Iowa.

The Burkholder Research Award, the highest award, is presented in recognition of outstanding achievement in student research. The Merit Research Award is presented in recognition of achievement in student research.

Each student completing a senior research project in the Natural Sciences is a candidate for an award. The Natural Science Faculty select the winners of the awards. Three criteria are used to judge the quality of the research and in selection of student award winners: (1) Selection and planning of a research project; (2) Quality of the research work, including techniques, observations made, and the analysis of data; and (3) Reporting the research, consisting of preparation of the research paper, and a poster or oral presentation to students and faculty.

Each student receiving an award will receive a Certificate of Award. Those receiving the Burkholder Award will have their name inscribed on a plaque, and will receive a year membership in the American Association for the Advancement of Science and a subscription to the journal Science.

Burkholder Research Award Winners

Adam Horinek (2009) Joel Grosbach (2008) Landon Snell (2008)

W. Brett Whitenack (2008)

Callie Crist (2007) Travis Allen (2006) Joseph Blas (2005) Robert Ullom (2004) Michelle Schulz (2003) Elizabeth Stover (2002)

Genelle Wine (2001) Nathan J. McLaughlin (2000)

Roy Johnson, Jr. (1999) Kerri Kobbeman (1997) Monica Embers (1995) Heather Hughbanks (1995)

Adam Smith (1994) Tyson Burden (1993) Peter Hanson (1992) James Dechand (1990) David Lehman (1988) David Krehbiel (1987)

Marla Ullom (1987)

Merit Research Award Winners

Lezli Warkentin (2009) Alan Grosbach (2008) Rhonda Hoffert (2007) Jamie Rodriguez (2007) Lisa Sader (2006) Eric Vrtiska (2006) David Cockriel (2005) Jenny Harper (2005) Danielle Lucore (2005) Adelina Cripe (2003) Renata L. Lichty (2002) Jonas Lichty (2001)

Jeffrey L. McPherson (2000) Jennifer M. Amiot (1999) Janet Bowen (1999) Eric D. Putnam (1999)

Anna Katharina Schenk (1999)

Cameron Mahler (1998) Rebecca Standafer (1998) Rod Samuelson (1997) Chris Owens (1996) Wes Sechler (1996) Stasi Zirkel (1996)

Erik Harmon (1995) Susan Blubaugh (1994) Sherry Coopple (1994)

Adeola Grillo (1994) Paula Worley (1994)

Robin Morgan (1993) Jody Weddle (1992)

Thomas Champion (1991) Shannon Hull (1991)

David Maxey (1990) Michelle Roesch (1989) Cynthia Aeschacher (1988)

Sandra Ashbaugh (1988) Cassandra Clark (1987)

Marsha Morley (1987)

Jay Nicholson (1987)