## RESEARCH AWARDS IN THE NATURAL SCIENCES

This is the seventh year that awards were presented to recognize excellence in student research. The awards are sponsored by the Natural Sciences of McPherson College and by the Midwest Oilseeds Company, Adel, Iowa.

The **MERIT RESEARCH AWARD** is presented in recognition of excellent achievement in student research. The **BURKHOLDER RESEARCH AWARD**, the highest award, is presented in recognition of outstanding achievement in student research.

Each student completing a senior research project in the Natural Sciences is a candidate for an award. The Natural Science Faculty select the winners of the awards. Three criteria are used to judge the quality of research and in the selection of student award winners: (1) Selection and planning of a research project; (2) Quality of the research work, including techniques, observations made, and the analysis of data; and (3) Reporting the research, consisting of the preparation of a research paper, and a poster or an oral presentation to students and faculty.

Each student receiving an award will receive a Certificate of Award. Those receiving the Burkholder Award will have their name inscribed on a plaque, and will receive a year membership in the American Association for the Advancement of Science and a subscription to the journal *Science*.

Past Burkholder Research Award Winners

Pete Hanson (1992) James Dechand (1990) David Lehman (1988) David Krehbiel (1987) Marla Ullom (1987) Past Merit Research Award Winners

Jody Weddle (1992)
Thomas L. Champion (1991)
Shannon Hull (1991)
David Maxey (1990)
Michelle L. Roesch (1989)
Cynthia Aeschacher (1988)
Sandra Ashbaugh (1988)
Cassandra Clark (1987)
Marsha Morley (1987)
Jay Nicholson (1987)