Research Awards in the Natural Sciences

The awards are sponsored by the Natural Sciences of McPherson College and Midwest Oilseeds of Adel, Iowa.

The **Burkholder Research Award**, the highest award, is presented in recognition of outstanding achievement in student research. The **Merit Research Award** is presented in recognition of achievement in student research.

Each student completing a senior research project in the Natural Sciences is a candidate for an award. The Natural Science Faculty select the winners of the awards. Three criteria are used to judge the quality of the research and in selection of student award winners: (1) Selection and planning of a research project; (2) Quality of the research work, including techniques, observations made, and the analysis of data; and (3) Reporting the research, consisting of preparation of the research paper, and a poster or oral presentation to students and faculty.

Each student receiving an award will receive a Certificate of Award. Those receiving the Burkholder Award will have their name inscribed on a plaque, and will receive a year membership in the American Association for the Advancement of Science and a subscription to the journal *Science*.

Year	Burkholder Award	Marit Award
2022	Burkholder Award	Merit Award Brionnah Fessler, Erica Paradise, Emma Singleton
2022		Sydney Burton, Jessica James, Choucranie N.
2021		Kayembe, Aaron Leck, Allison Pamela Penalva
		Vanegas
2020		Sebia Kalambayi Kabedi, Garrett Owen
2019	Parkes Wolters	Micaila Curtis, Samantha Nelson
2018		Nora Grosbach, Amy Makovec
2017	Nathan Finch	Sheryl Evans, Lucas Giesey
2016	Tiffany Fraser, Ashley Long	Alia Khalidi, Kaley Kinnamon
2015	Nathaniel Schowengerdt	Shannon Coldren, Sydney Lipton, Jordan Stewart
2014	Yi Qun Chai, Sean DeYoung	Lori Crain, Alejandro Esparza, Christian Rodriguez Torey Fry, Kasey Miller
2013	Amanda Baxter, Emily James, Taylor Roop	Savannah Sievers, Andrew Skinner
2012	Audrey McTaggart	Karissa Ferrell, Kelley Green, Ashley Zodrow
2011	, 60	
2010	Ashlee Jost, David Miller	Amanda Pangburn, Nicole Sampson,
2009	Adam Horinek	Lezli Warkentin
		Alan Grosbach
2008	Joel Grosbach, Landon Snell, W. Brett Whitenack	
2007	Callie Crist	Rhonda Hoffert, Jamie Rodriguez
2006	Travis Allen	Lisa Sader
2005 2004	Joseph Blas Robert Ullom	David Cockriel, Jenny Harper, Danielle Lucore
2004	Michelle Schulz	Adeline Cripe
2003	Elizabeth Stover	Renata Lichty
2002	Genelle Wine	Jonas Lichty
2000	Nathan McLaughlin	Jeffrey McPherson
1999	Roy Johnson, Jr.	Jennifer M. Amiot, Janet Bowen, Eric D. Putnam,
	,	Anna Katharina Schenk
1998		Rebecca Standafer, Cameron Mahler
1997	Kerri Kobbeman	Rod Samuelson
1996		Chris Owens, Wes Seckler, Stasi Zirkel
1995	Monica Embers, Heather Hughbanks	Erik Harmon
1994	Adam Smith	Susan Blubaugh, Sherry Coopple, Adeola Grillo,
		Paula Worley
1993	Tyson Burden	Robin Morgan
1992	Pete Hanson	The same Observation Observation II
1991	James Dackerd	Thomas Champion, Shannon Hull
1990 1989	James Dechand	David Maxey Michelle Roesch
1989	David Lehmen	Cynthia Aeschacher, Sandra Ashbaugh
1987	David Krehbiel, Marla Ullom	Cassandra Clark, Marsha Morley, Jay Nicholson
1301	David Idenbiel, Ividita Oliotti	Cassariara Clark, Marsha Moricy, Say Micholson